29th and its quartet

I took him to the river and said “let’s watch something drown,” So he took a stone
and I took my necklace
and we threw it all together,
the way I always think I will get better in July. Things will change and sounds won’t ache
and I gave my heart to uncertainty so many times, and so I took him to the river,
threw the necklace in the river to slowly watch it drown, or burn, or fade away
like I’ve done so many times.

I think this might just be what breaks my heart when February takes the Leap.

i fear in that moment i might forget what it takes to breathe when anxiety rushes into the lungs instead of air.

Leave a Reply

